Harrisons named Mr. Baseball, Miss Softball


JACKSONVILLE – Fairhope’s Ryley Harrison and Oxford’s Hayes Harrison, after highlight-filled seasons, collected the state’s biggest high school baseball and softball awards.

Ryley Harrison was named Miss Softball and Hayes Harrison won Mr. Baseball, the Alabama Sports Writers Association announced Sunday at its annual convention.

Ryley Harrison hit 20 home runs and had a 1.007 slugging percentage for the Class 7A runner-up Pirates. She finished with 76 RBIs and scored 36 runs in 51 games. With 33 walks, Harrison had a .572 on-base percentage. At pitcher, she was 26-1 with an 0.70 ERA and 375 strikeouts in 30 games.

Hayes Harrison was 13-0 with an 1.28 ERA in 71 innings this season for the Class 6A champion Yellow Jackets. He walked 11 and struck out 82, holding hitters to a .160 average. With a bat, Harrison had a .497 on-base percentage and 38 RBIs in 41 games.

Hayes Harrison is Oxford’s second Mr. Baseball. Matthew Maniscalco won the original award in 1999.

Ryley Harrison has signed with South Alabama, and Hayes Harrison has signed with Northwest-Shoals Community College. They are not related.

Ryley Harrison, Fairhope
Hayes Harrison, Oxford

(top 10 players regardless of classification)

Ryley Harrison, Fairhope
Taniyah Brown, Brewbaker Tech
Mya Holt, Wetumpka
Mia Tidmore, Plainview
Ambrey Taylor, Curry
Alyssa Faircloth, Tuscaloosa Co.
Hannah Dorsett, Hewitt-Trussville
Morgan Stiles, Athens
Bradyn Mitchell, Hatton
Kaylee Navarre, Brantley

Hayes Harrison, Oxford
Jackson Harris, Vestavia Hills
Caleb Freeman, Etowah
Sam Silas, Holtville
Coleman Mizell, Hartselle
Jax Yoxtheimer, Central-Phenix City
Miles Edwards, Lauderdale Co.
Landon Alton, Thompson
Cale Tittle, Lynn
Peyton Webb, Donoho

2023: Ryley Harrison, Fairhope
2022: Kenleigh Cahalan, Hewitt-Trussville
2021: Annabelle Widra, Spain Park
2020: No award because of COVID-19 pandemic
2019: Libby Baker, G.W. Long
2018: Leanna Johnson, Brantley
2017: Annie Willis, Westminster-Huntsville
2016: Ashlee Swindle, Curry
2015: Lacey Sumerlin, Baker
2014: Madi Moore, Winfield
2013: Kasey Cooper, Dothan
2012: Haylie McCleney, Mortimer Jordan
2011: Shelby Holley, Pisgah
2010: Leigh Streetman, Hueytown
2009: Hilary Phillips, Ider
2008: Lindsey Dunlap, Hueytown
2007: Whitney Larsen, Vestavia Hills
2006: Anna Thompson, Grissom
2005: Tara Donaldson, Baker
2004: Anna Thompson, Grissom
2003: Holly Currie, Pisgah

2023: Hayes Harrison, Oxford
2022: Riley Quick, Hewitt-Trussville
2021: Maddux Bruns, UMS-Wright
2020: No award because of COVID-19 pandemic
2019: Gunnar Henderson, Morgan Academy
2018: Jeremiah Jackson, St. Luke’s
2017: Tanner Burns, Decatur
2016: Owen Lovell, Cullman
2015: Brax Garrett, Florence
2014: Cody Reed, Ardmore
2013: Keegan Thompson, Cullman
2012: Mikey White, Spain Park
2011: Daniel Koger, Huntsville
2010: Daryl Norris, Fairhope
2009: Luke Bole, Hartselle
2008: Tyler Stovall, Hokes Bluff
2007: John David Smelser, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa
2006: Del Howell, American Christian
2005: Colby Rasmus, Russell Co.
2004: Patrick White, Daphne
2003: Joey Doan, Baker
2002: Allen Ponder, Lee-Scott
2001: Eric West, Southside-Gadsden
2000: Wade Miller, G.W. Long
1999: Matthew Maniscalco, Oxford

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print