Alabama’s Hands-Free Law Is Now in Full Effect As Of June 15th

Simon Schuessler

If you or someone you know has a habit of being on their phones while driving, listen up. Alabama’s hands-free law is now in full effect as of June 15, and law enforcement now has the ability to give citations for the violation.

It’s been law for a year, but law enforcement gave residents a one-year grace period to learn about and get used to the change.

“We really don’t want anybody to feel like they’re being taken advantage of,” Sgt. Jeremy Burkett with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency expressed. “We want these things to be known to people.”

Here are the repercussions:

1st violation: Up to a $50 fine and 1 point on your driving record

2nd violation: Up to a $100 fine and 2 points on your driving record

3rd violation: Up to a $150 fine and 3 points on your driving record

Remember, 12 or more points within a two-year period results in your license being suspended.

“It’s still under discretion,” explained Burkett. “Officers could still always give a verbal warning or a written warning, or if they deem it necessary, they can issue a citation.”

You can adapt to the change by finding ways to answer the phone without using your hands, using one finger to swipe or press a button is still allowed to initiate or end a call.

“Vehicles are equipped with Bluetooth, a lot of them now you can talk through the radio or buy a hands-free device, and that’s what we want people to be able to do,” said Burkett.

According to Drive Safe Alabama, the risk of getting in a wreck is increased by 23 times while you are texting.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print