WHAT DOES IT MEAN, AND WHAT CAN HAPPEN, IF YOU DECIDE TO BURN OUTDOORS
November 8th, Alabama Governor Kay Ivey signed a resolution declaring a drought emergency across the state and a Statewide Burn Ban was issued by the Alabama Forestry Commission. During a Statewide Burn Ban it is illegal to set ANY outdoor fire – with the exception of grilling in a completely ENCLOSED metal BBQ grill.
The Burn Ban became effective November 9th (2023) at 8:00am therefore, if you decide to set a fire you will be subject to arrest. If convicted, you could serve up to six months in JAIL and a fine up to $500 dollars could be imposed.
Firefighters from Sand Rock, Tucker’s Chapel, and the Leesburg Fire Departments, with Wildland Firefighters from the Alabama Forestry Commission battled a 10 acre fire recently, located off of County Rd 413 in the Round Mountain area. The blaze resulted from someone deciding to burn cardboard boxes in a ditch. Weather conditions were extremely favorable to cause rapid fire growth and spread. The fire became uncontrolled after the wind blew a few embers into a wooded area.
Any outdoor burning during extreme drought conditions can be very dangerous. Please DO NOT BURN!
Alabama Law states:
Setting fires, building campfires OR the burning of trash during drought emergencies; backfires.
At such time as the State Forestry Commission has declared by regulation a drought emergency in any county or counties, it shall be unlawful in such county or counties for any person to set fire to any forest, grass, woods, wildlands or marshes or to build a campfire or bonfire or to burn trash or other material that may cause a forest, grass or woods fire. This prohibition does not apply to any backfire set by an official representative or agent of the State Forestry Commission. Nor does this prohibition apply when a backfire is set by any person for the purpose of saving life or property; provided, that such person shall have the burden of proving the necessity for setting such backfire if he claims same as a defense.
Penalties for violations of provisions of article.
Any person violating any provision of this article shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $250.00 nor more than $500.00 and, at the discretion of the court, may be sentenced to the county jail for a period not exceeding six months.