STATEWIDE BURN BAN - WHAT DOES IT MEAN & WHAT CAN HAPPEN IF YOU DECIDE TO BURN OUTDOORS November 9, 2023 at 5:18:07 PM CST On November 8th Governor Kay Ivey signed a resolution declaring a Drought Emergency in Alabama and a Statewide Burn Ban was issued by the Alabama Forestry Commission. During a Statewide Burn Ban it is illegal to set any outdoor fire with the exception of grilling in a completely enclosed metal BBQ grill. The Burn Ban became effective this morning (11/9/2023) at 8AM therefore, if you decide to set a fire you will be subject to arrest. If convicted, you could serve up to 6 months in jail and a fine up to $500 dollars could be imposed. Firefighters from Sand Rock, Tucker's Chapel, and Leesburg Fire Departments along with Wildland Firefighters from the Alabama Forestry Commission battled a 10 acre fire yesterday off County Rd 413 in the Round Mountain area. This fire resulted from someone deciding to burning a few cardboard boxes in a ditch. Weather conditions were extremely favorable to cause rapid fire growth and spread. The fire became uncontrolled after the wind blew a few embers into a wooded area. It took firefighters just over 10 hours to get the fire under control. Outdoor burning during these extreme drought conditions is very dangerous. Please DO NOT BURN! Alabama Law states: Section 9-13-141 Setting fires, building campfires or burning trash during drought emergencies; backfires. At such time as the State Forestry Commission has declared by regulation a drought emergency in any county or counties, it shall be unlawful in such county or counties for any person to set fire to any forest, grass, woods, wildlands or marshes or to build a campfire or bonfire or to burn trash or other material that may cause a forest, grass or woods fire. This prohibition does not apply to any backfire set by an official representative or agent of the State Forestry Commission. Nor does this prohibition apply when a backfire is set by any person for the purpose of saving life or property; provided, that such person shall have the burden of proving the necessity for setting such backfire if he claims same as a defense. Section 9-13-142 Penalties for violations of provisions of article. Any person violating any provision of this article shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not lesthan $250.00 nor more than $500.00 and, at the discretion of the court, may be sentenced to the county jail for a period not exceeding six months.