Stimulus Checks Going Out in Seven States

Seven states are in the process of sending out direct stimulus payments to residents.

The federal government sent out three rounds of stimulus checks during the COVID-19 pandemic – and now with Congress seemingly closed to the prospect of additional checks, individual states are providing direct funding to address economic woes.

Those states include Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana, Minnesota and New Mexico.


Delaware began sending “relief rebate” payments of $300 to taxpayers who filed a return in 2020 with the money coming from a budget surplus.

Most Delaware residents received the payments in May though state government said they will continue to be distributed throughout the summer.


Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis announced in July that 59,000 low-income families in the state will qualify for a one-time payment of $450 per child. The stimulus is being distributed via the Florida Department of Children and Families to residents “who receive one of the following services through the department:

  • Temporary cash assistance (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families)
  • Relative/non-relative caregiver funds
  • Has an adoptive and/or foster child in the household

No application is required and payments will be sent automatically to qualifying families.


Recent legislation in Georgia is providing rebates of $250 for single filers, $375 for heads of households and $500 for those filing jointly. The money comes from a budget surplus in the state.

People who filed tax returns by April 18 are expected to receive their rebates by early August.


Residents whose income fell under $100,000 in 2021, or $200,000 for joint filers, will receive a $300 tax rebate this year. Dependents are also eligible for the rebate. Residents earning more than $100,000, or $200,000 for joint filers, will receive a one-time $100 check.

Payments are expected to start in late August.


Indiana began sending $125 payments to all residents regardless of income in May.


Frontline workers in Minnesota qualify to receive a one-time payment of $750. Applications for the payments were due by July 22 with payments to follow.

New Mexico

New Mexico Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham approved a measure that would give residents a $500 rebate with an additional $250 for those earning less than $75,000 a year.

The $250 rebates were issued in July. The first half of the $500 rebate came in June; the other half will occur this month.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print