Dub Ellis Invitational Golf Tournament


The first day of the Dub Ellis Invitational golf tournament was completed Saturday.

Nearly seventy golfers from the tri-state area descended upon the Cherokee County Country Club on highway 9 in Centre to tee it up for the annual event.

Jon Bailey posted the low round of the day to lead the Championship Flight. Bailey’s 64 was three strokes better than defending champion Chad Calvert. John Bullen along with Centre’s Jake Minnix are in a five way tie at third with a 68.

Cherokee County High School golfer Trenton Edwards tops the 1st flight at 73 with former club champion David Garrett just one stroke behind.

In the 2nd Flight, Cherokee County Sports Hall of Famer Jeff Bullen, along with Trai West, Keith Atkinson and Scotty Grimes, are a single stroke off the lead.

Likewise, locals Tim Hill and Rodney Van Pelt need a single shot to catch the leaders in the 3rd flight.

In addition to Sunday’s final round players compete for various skill prizes throughout the tournament.

Round 1

Championship Flight

Jon Bailey 64

Chad Calvert 67

John Bullen 68

Jake Minnix 68

Frank Brady 68

Doug East 68

Cole Skaggs 68

Ty Cole 69

Jeremy Willis 70

Sam Burrell 70

Wayne Garrett 71

Lee Morgan 71

Jeremy McGatha 71

Jeremy Rieger 72

Grant Hockman 72

Flight 1

Trenton Edwards 73

Matt Rogers 74

David Garrett 74

Daniel Black 75

Darrell Wise 75

Kendrick King 75

Sid Garrett 75

T. J. McGatha 76

Kevin Muskett 76

Terry Tallent 76

Robin Wood 77

Kenny Wright 77

Robert Riddle 77

Steve Baker 77

Flight 2

Skylar Dennis 78

Bill Gilchrist 78

Nick Snay 78

Jeff Bullen 79

Scotty Grimes 79

Keith Atkison 79

Trai West 79

Keith Bledsoe 80

Alex Russell 80

Tim Gamble 80

Scotty McFry 80

Adam Lawrence 80

Scotty King 80

Jeff Woodall 81

David Martin 81

Sean Webb 81

Brian Shell 81

Phillip Davis 81

Kaleb Kines 81

Flight 3

Brad Coley 82

Chris Holderfield 82

Clay Jones 82

Tim Hill 83

Rodney Van Pelt 83

Nick Higdon 83

Ricky Hairston 85

Jeff Grogan 86

Renae Coley 87

Colby Abernathy 87

Thomas Russell 88

Dale Owens 88

Kelly Rogers 89

Ricky Young 90

Bill Campbell 91

Wayne Young 92

Robert Terry 94

Kevin Bedwell 95

Don McRay 118

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print